Skip to content

Today’s reading list

September 10, 2009

Sometimes It’s Not About You: “When the job market is at the point it’s currently at and you’re a strong candidate who’s not getting offers, it’s not you. It’s the market.” I love you, Alison. The majority of stuff online generally says the opposite: If you’re not getting offers, you’re not a strong candidate. I just wonder how long is OK to not get offers before thinking maybe it really is about you. I’m going to ask her.

9 Things to Do To Make Sure Your Next Blog Post Is Read by More than Your Mom: “I find that one of the most effective ways to get a link to a new blog post ‘out there’ is simply to tweet it.” Done!

You Can’t Be Mary Poppins In Social Media: “If you’re going to aim for practically perfect in every way in social media, you won’t get to enjoy it. You’ll miss out on business and personal benefits.” This was what held me up in the past. Not anymore.

How to Address Job Hopping on a Resume: Just when I thought I’d read all resume advice on the Internet. I know Penelope Trunk would say how are you supposed to find a successful job without finding some failed ones along the way?

The Myth of Resume Buzzwords: “Some people are putting out this information because they want to make money.” A reminder to take what you read online with a grain of salt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 10:05 pm

    Thank you for including an article I shared in my Google Reader in your daily reading list. Please note that I did not write this article — Denise Graveline, a communications consultant in DC did. However, the link you posted, due to an issue at Brazen Careerist, suggests I did, which is completely untrue. Would you mind updating your links to link to her original blog post? It’s online here:

    Thank you so much!
    -Emily Culbertson

  2. September 11, 2009 6:43 am

    You’ve erroneously miscredited my blog post, “You Can’t Be Mary Poppins in Social Media.” I am the author, and it originally appeared on my don’t get caught news and info blog at Emily Culbertson retweeted a link on Twitter and FriendFeed, entirely appropriately, and Brazen Careerist took the link and posted my post in full, without reprint permissions and in violation of copyright law. To make matters worse, they miscredit the post and cite Emily as the author.

    Please correct your link and send it to the original post noted above, and help me stop this in its tracks. I appreciate your help.

    • jessified permalink*
      September 11, 2009 9:02 am

      Thank you for correcting me; I definitely want to stop this in its tracks. I’ve fixed the link. And thank you, Denise, for writing the blog post in the first place. I think it speaks to people like me who get on Twitter, see everyone already having a good time and wonder how in the world everyone’s figured this out already. They haven’t because no one has, but at least they are there having a good time. And I’m definitely enjoying the connections I’m able to make on Twitter.

  3. Emily Culbertson permalink
    September 11, 2009 9:05 am

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

